A Collector’s Opinion: Keeping Your Figures Out of the Box

Levi Ackerman Funko Pop from Attack on Titan. Photo/Julia Riffle.

Many collectors I know, especially Funko Pop collectors keep their figures in the box. There is more value to the figure within the box, which is well known throughout the collecting community, and by most who have a general knowledge on collecting. It has been something I’ve debated since I began collecting. Even now, after deciding to display my figures out of the box (because I enjoy being able to see all of the details and save more space), I still didn’t know whether to keep the boxes or not.

There is always a possibility that maybe I will need the money and space one day and have to sell off some of my collection. I worry it won’t be worth much without the box. What it came down to was getting rid of many boxes. I just simply didn’t have the room for both the boxes and the Funko Pops. Still, I have some figures in the box and some boxes I have kept, but if you don’t have a place to store the boxes it becomes a whole other collection just of boxes! My view is if the collection is something you love and wouldn’t just decide to sell than there isn’t really a point in keeping all of the boxes or all of the figures in the box. There is so much joy that can come from seeing just the little intricacies of the figures better or closer up. Next time you debate keeping a figure in the box, consider letting them be appreciated for what they are, a 3D piece of art!

Thank you for reading! Let me know in the comments what kind of collector you are, in or out of the box?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started